Stewart Christie (old school tailor that are working to update themselves, and feels like a more upmarket walker slater) would probably have been worth a visit, as would Dick’s Edinburgh (which I think carries an aesthetic more to your taste). I’ve tried liking walker slater many a time, but keep being disappointed… Not sure why. Agree with the sorry state of the charity shops – only place I’ve had any luck at all is in the Stockbridge area (which is a bit more posh than Morningside). There’s also Armstrong’s Vintage which is full of all sorts of random clothing; mostly a bit too worn or low quality, but I’ve found the occasional good thing there.

I love living here, and Edinburgh is a fantastic city overall, but the Royal Mile and Princes street would definitely benefit from less tourist shops, trinkets, and crappy restaurants…